62 candidates vie for USC posts


■ Camille Guadalupe Lita

A total of 62 university-wide candidates are qualified to run in this year’s UP Diliman Student Council elections according to the initial list released by the University Student Electoral Board (USEB), March 16.

Fielding a total of 29 bets, Students Alliance for the Democratic Rights in UP (STAND UP) has the most number of candidates with incumbent councilors Ben Te and Shari Oliquino running for the chairperson and vice chairperson positions, respectively.

Alyansa ng mga Mag-aaral para sa Panlipunang Katwiran at Kaunlaran (UP ALYANSA), on the other hand, fields a total of 15 candidates, as their sole standard bearer Benjia Allen Aquino runs for the chairperson post.

Meanwhile, 10 candidates are vying for electoral posts from Nagkakaisang Iskolar para sa Pamantasan at Sambayanan (KAISA UP). Incumbent USC councilors LA Castro and Rafael Toribio will lead as KAISA UP’s standard bearers eyeing the chairperson and vice chairperson posts, respectively.

Three student candidates have also been qualified to run as independent for the USC councilor positions and five candidates for the college representative posts.

Electoral protest may be filed from March 16, 3pm up to March 20, 12pm. The official list of candidates will be released on March 20 at 5pm. ■

The initial list of candidates follows:


Benjie Allen “BENJIE” D. Aquino (UP ALYANSA) – CBA

Leandro Anton “LA” M. Castro (KAISA UP) – CMC

Ben Galil “BENTE” R. Te (STAND UP) – CSSP


Jose Rafael “YAEL” L. Toribio (KAISA UP) – CBA

Ma. Shari Niña “SHARI” D. Oliquino (STAND UP) – CMC


Maria Almira “ALMIRA” V. Abril (STAND UP) – CMC

Ric Arvin “ARVIN” B. Agapay (KAISA UP) – NCPAG

Angela “ANGELA” D. Bello (STAND UP) – CHK

Kisha Marielle “KISHA” C. Beringuela (UP ALYANSA) – CAL

Timothy Brian “BLACKIE” B. Black (STAND UP) – CMC

Carlos C. Cabaero (INDEPENDENT) – ECON

Julie-Ann Kris “JULIE” R. Corridor (UP ALYANSA) – ECON

Bryan Nicholas “SUGAR” Q. Del Castillo (UP ALYANSA) – CHE

Cassandra “CASSIE” D. Deluria (UP ALYANSA) – CSSP

Gertrude Anmari “GERTIE” E. Farenas (KAISA UP) – CHE

Roseann Camille “VIA” L. Fernandez (STAND UP) – NCPAG

Vincent Angelo “VINCENT” A. Flores (STAND UP) – ENGG

Rianne Mae “RIANNE” B. Geronimo (UP ALYANSA) – CBA

Juan Luis Alfonso V. Gonzaga (INDEPENDENT) – AIT

Shara Mae “SHARA” B. Landicho (KAISA UP) – ENGG

Justine Kate “KATE” D. Raca (STAND UP) – EDUK

Zildjian Joshua “ZILDJIAN” C. Restituto (KAISA UP) – ENGG

Joel Paolo “JP” C. Salvador (STAND UP) – CBA

Paolo Iñigo C. Sevilla (INDEPENDENT) – CSSP

Jose Monfred “MON” C. Sy (STAND UP) – CAL

Angela Mae “GELA” C. Tullo (UP ALYANSA) – CAL

Christian “BIBOY” F. Villarin (STAND UP) – ENGG

Joe Marie “JM” L. Yapcengco (UP ALYANSA) – EDUK

Christiana Afia “SAY” A. Yeboah (STAND UP) – ENGG



Joshua Chace “JOSH” S. Balinas (KAISA UP)

Sharmaine Jo Regina “JO” S. Badong (STAND UP)


Richard “RICHARD” V. Pagaduan (STAND UP)

Noel Ingersol G. Castro (INDEPENDENT)


Isabelle Beatriz “BELLE” DLS. Ginez (UP ALYANSA)


Ryan Paulo “RYAN” I. Yurong (UP ALYANSA)

John Isaac “ICE” B. Punzalan (STAND UP)


Michael “MICHAEL” D.A. Yam (STAND UP)


Ma. Norma Thea Madeline “MADEE” M. Conjares (KAISA UP)

Danica Pearl “DANI” E. Fano (STAND UP)


Maria Regina “REDGE” L. Jimenez (UP ALYANSA)

Lorenzo “ENZO” A. Espinosa (KAISA UP)

Erica “ERICA” O. Batanes (STAND UP)


Jesse David “JESSE” C. Doctor (STAND UP)

Mary Nicole T. Fabian (INDEPENDENT)


Philippe Jefferson “JEFF” A. Galban (UP ALYANSA)

Christine Faye “TINE” S. Dumagan (STAND UP)


Ian Jerald “IAN” J. Serrano (UP ALYANSA)

Jeremy M. Gemzontan (INDEPENDENT)


Patricia Ruth “PAT” P. Jasmin (STAND UP)


Jomar Christian “JOMAR” J. Camposano (STAND UP)

Jason “JASON” S. Garcia (STAND UP)

Paul Gabriel “GAB” E. Lerona (STAND UP)


Ricardo Juanito “RJ” Balledos (UP ALYANSA)

Jed Manuel “JED” L. Zulaybar (STAND UP)


Justinne Marie “JUSTINNE” D. Real (STAND UP)

Christen Diana “DIANA” P. Gallinera (KAISA UP)

Patricia B. Reyes (INDEPENDENT)


Liezel “LIZ” M. Aldiano (STAND UP)


Rheymond “EMON” G. Jimenez (UP ALYANSA)

Tierone James “TIERONE” M. Santos (STAND UP)

Marvey Mercado (INDEPENDENT)

Short URL: http://www.philippinecollegian.org/?p=11781

Posted by on Mar 16 2017. Filed under #votewatchUPD, Balita, Eleksyon, Featured Story, Headlines. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Recently Commented

  • Jomar B. Villanueva: Magaling. (Hindi ako naluluha, hindi.)
  • Alexander Absalon: In this time when truth is besieged with lies and malice, Philippine Collegian comes in handy and...
  • Andrew: Good day Sir/Madame: Can I ask anyone here for a contact details of UPM-SHS-ECSC. Thank you & God bless
  • carlo zapanta: can you update me for the case of the student named hina who has been stabbed by danmar vicencio last...
  • Nino jesus Garcia: Is really for real.