PALS breaks IGNITE’s four-year streak


■ Jul Yan Espeleta

Practice of Administrative Leadership and Service (PALS) has broken the four-year streak of the Initiative for Genuine Involvement, Transparency and Empowerment (IGNITE) in the National College of Public Administration and Governance Student Council (NCPAG SC) after securing the top two posts as well as clinching ten out of 16 seats in the student council.

Incumbent NCPAG SC Councilor Czarlo Demeterio and External Affairs Administrator Mary Gwyneth Ann Paredes of PALS secured the chair and vice-chair positions with 212 and 189 votes respectively. Only four members of IGNITE had managed to win positions, with Dheza C. Peñaranda as the sole councilor coming from IGNITE.

IGNITE, however, also claimed the Seniors Batch Representative, Internal Affairs Administrator, and Ways and Means Administrator positions in the student council.

A total of 294 out of 622 students had cast their votes, with 23 votes coming from the special elections held last April 1 for the graduate program, reaching a 47.27 percent voter turnout. ■

Here is the list of the newly elected council:


Czarlo T. Demetrio (PALS) – 212 

Abstain – 94

Vice Chairperson

Mary Gwyneth Ann A. Paredes (PALS) – 189

Kathleen Mai J. Cardoz (IGNITE) – 110

NCPAG Representative to the USC

Christen Diana P. Gallinera – 131

Patricia B. Reyes – 111

Justinne Marie D. Real – 56

External Affairs Administrator

Isabelle Beatrice D. Magtanong (PALS) – 173

Shane Aubrey A. Sucgang (IGNITE) – 117

Finance Administrator

John Reynan P. Galano (PALS) – 162

Alwin Vince A. Genato (IGNITE) – 125

Internal Affairs Administrator

Judith Leanne Pauline D. Kit (IGNITE) – 173

Abstain – 133

Socio-Academic Affairs Administrator

Anjelika Mae L. Marquez (PALS) – 156

Patrick Karlo D. Cabañero (IGNITE) – 132

 Ways and Means Administrator

Trisha Joyce M. Galang (IGNITE) – 187 

Abstain – 119


Shyler Alaine R. Delos Santos (PALS) – 155

John Emil L. Maristela (PALS) – 158

Dheza C. Peñaranda (IGNITE) – 133

Alyanna Alex B. Sulaik (PALS) – 159 

Adrian P. Alconcel (IGNITE) – 111

Dexter Arvin E. Yang (IGNITE) – 123

Janina Faith C. Casucog (IGNITE) – 127


Sophomores Batch Representative

Liezl F. Cuneta (PALS) – 16 

Abstain – 9

Juniors Batch Representative

Jose Gabriel A. Pabellano (PALS) – 54 

Angelica Roscea S. Quiambao (IGNITE) – 38

Seniors Batch Representative

Mark Cedrick Jorell T. Lustado (IGNITE) – 53

Abstain – 25

Short URL: http://www.philippinecollegian.org/?p=12006

Posted by on Apr 17 2017. Filed under #votewatchUPD, Balita, Eleksyon. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Recently Commented

  • Jomar B. Villanueva: Magaling. (Hindi ako naluluha, hindi.)
  • Alexander Absalon: In this time when truth is besieged with lies and malice, Philippine Collegian comes in handy and...
  • Andrew: Good day Sir/Madame: Can I ask anyone here for a contact details of UPM-SHS-ECSC. Thank you & God bless
  • carlo zapanta: can you update me for the case of the student named hina who has been stabbed by danmar vicencio last...
  • Nino jesus Garcia: Is really for real.